avatar for Russ Farwell

Russ Farwell

Seattle Thunderbirds
Vice President, Hockey Operations
Russ Farwell was promoted to Vice President of Hockey Operations on June 6, 2018, after 22 consecutive seasons as the T-Birds general manager and  24 seasons overall.  Farwell guided the Thunderbirds in both the 1988-89 and 1989-90 seasons and led the Birds to a franchise record 52-17-3 mark in the 1989-90 campaign, after which he was rewarded as the WHL and CHL Executive of the Year.
His team's on-ice exploits earned the club 30 sellouts in the 1989-90 season and paved the way for Thunderbird games to be played in the Seattle Center Coliseum. The Coliseum seated three times as many fans as the Thunderbirds previous home, the 4,139 seat Seattle Center Arena. Seattle hosted a standing room only crowd of 12,553 against the Spokane Chiefs on February 9, 1990, then a WHL single game attendance record.
His Western League success, which spanned a total of eight years and included back to back Memorial Cup Championships in Medicine Hat in 1987 and 1988, led to his being hired on June 6, 1990, by the NHL’s Philadelphia Flyers as their General Manager.  Farwell was General Manager in Philadelphia for four seasons.
Farwell returned to the T-Birds in 1995. The Thunderbirds won the West Division Championship, their first in franchise history, in 1997. In June of the same year, Patrick Marleau became his second #2 overall NHL draft pick. Petr Neved was selected #2 overall in the 1990 NHL Draft.
The T-Birds won the US Division in 2002-03 with a 44-22-3-3 (w-l-t-otl) record. They advanced to the Western Conference Finals where they were eliminated by the Kelowna Rockets 4-1 in the best-of-seven series. The T-Birds won the US Division in 2004-05 with a 43-24-2-3 (w-l-t-otl) record. The T-Birds won the US Division and Western Conference Championship in the 2015-16 season. Their record this season was 45-23-4-0, the second best record in franchise history.
The T-Birds won their first WHL Championship in 2017. They won the Championship by sweeping the Tri-City Americans in the first round, the Everett Silvertips in the second round, defeating the Kelowna Rockets 4-2 for the Western Conference Championship and defeating the Regina Pats 4-2 to win the Championship. 
Farwell has had 10 players selected in the first round of the NHL Draft. They are Lindsay Vallis (89, Montreal), Petr Nedved (90, Vancouver), Turner Stevenson (90, Montreal), Brent Bilodeau (90, Montreal), Patrick Marleau (97, San Jose), Oleg Saprykin (99, Calgary), Scott Kelman (99, Phoenix), Thomas Hickey (07, Los Angeles), Shea Theodore (13, Anaheim) and Mathew Barzal (15, New York Islanders).

My Speakers Sessions

Monday, September 30

1:00pm PDT